Enriched Background Isotope Study (EBIS) Project Workshop

January 20 and 21, 2005 -- Livermore, California


Written Report:

Livermore Workshop Report (Feb 15, 2005)

Presentations:

(Click on the highlighted presentation title of interest to download a PDF version of the Powerpoint presentation)

EBIS Introduction and Recap :
  Paul  J. Hanson et al.  (hansonpj@ornl.gov)

14C in Air:  L. M. (Malu) Cisneros Dozal (cisnerol@uci.edu)

14C in tree rings Chris Swanston ((swanston1@llnl.gov)

A constrained 14C Atmosphere:  Julia Gaudinski (Gaudinsk@ucsc.edu)

Bulk 14C Analyses: Paul J. Hanson (hansonpj@ornl.gov), Chris Swanston and Don Todd

14C Chemical Patitioning in Fresh Litter: Laura Hainsworth (ljhainsw@ehc.edu)

Dissolved organic carbon (DOC) transport through the soil profile:  Donald E. Todd for Philip Jardine et al. (ipj@ornl.gov)

Forms and fate of carbon in soils

A. Aggregate-based methods: Julie Jastrow (JDJastrow@ANL.gov)
B. Density-based methods Chris Swanston ((swanston1@llnl.gov)

Components of soil respiration: L.M. Cisneros Dozal (cisnerol@uci.edu) and Susan Trumbore (setrumbo@uci.edu)

Fine root turnover and lifetimes: Julia Gaudinski (Gaudinsk@ucsc.edu) and J. Dev Joslin et al. (jdjoslin@esper.com)

Belowground productivity 13C 15N: Charles T. Garten Jr. et al. (ctg@ornl.gov)

Microbial biomass and mycorrhizae:  Margaret Torn et al. (MSTorn@lbl.gov)

Macrobiotic transport:  Mac Callaham et al. (mcallaham@fs.fed.us)

Modeling and Synthesis:

Modeling organic horizon C inputs/outputs Paul J. Hanson (hansonpj@ornl.gov)

Modeling root growth, mortality, and turnover:  William Riley (wjriley@lbl.gov) and Margaret Torn (MSTorn@lbl.gov) et al.

Rothamsted Model Plus: Wilfred M. Post (postwmiii@ornl.gov)

Synthesis Slides:  Paul J. Hanson et al. (hansonpj@ornl.gov)